Textile Design in Copenhagen

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Finland July 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — snowforzo @ 11:01 am

On Tuesday, we visited and sketched at the Atenueum Art Museum and the Kiasma modern art museum. The Kiasma was awful! It had an exhibit called the “Horror Vacui”  which was terrifying. I spent most of that visit in the museum’s cafe with Sarah. The building was designed by Steven Holl (shout out to Pratt architects!), and the actual space was pretty cool.

We had an amazing lunch at the market near the water! Shif, Sarah, Brittany and I gobbled up crepes, tinsy blueberries and strawberries! After, we walked around a bunch of wonderful design and clothing shops like Marimekko (where I found my dream dress! but didn’t buy it because it was sooo expensive!), Iitalla and Ivana Helsinki.

We also visited the Temppeliaukio Rock Church, and then ate dinner. I had reindeer! It came with mashed parshnips and chanterelles, and was good, but still a little strange. After another sauna at the hotel, we packed up and went to sleep.

 

3 Responses to “Finland”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Natalie, I’m loving the reportage!

    You should have bought the dress! It looks great!

    Hope your foot is better.

    We’re thinking of you. You’ll be with your parents soon, no?

    • snowforzo Says:

      I bought the dress today! For fifty percent off, and with my parents approval because they’re here with me now! Now I just need a fancy event to wear it to.

  2. Ed Says:

    Hi Nat,
    I am on the hunt for an event where you can wear the dress (which was made for you) but Copenhagen in the summer does not seem to be cooperating with our plans. I will keep searching this weekend. Dad


Leave a Reply

